Turning off Ping after upgrades

Discussions about development of VICIDIAL and astGUIclient

Moderators: gerski, enjay, williamconley, Op3r, Staydog, gardo, mflorell, MJCoate, mcargile, Kumba, Michael_N

Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby uselessinfoguru » Thu Aug 23, 2018 10:50 pm

After installing the latest ISO, then upgrading to php7, then installing wordpress, I can not turn off Ping. I've tried the firewall
IPtables
/proc/sys/net/ipv4/icmp_echo_ignore_all '1'
-A ufw-before-input -p icmp --icmp-type echo-request -j DROP
and still able to Ping... any thoughts?
VERSION: 2.14-661a | BUILD: 180222-0017 | Single Server
uselessinfoguru
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby williamconley » Thu Aug 23, 2018 11:12 pm

Every installation .iso has a version (X.X.X). The word "Latest" does not supply this information.

Later, when a new installer has been released, the next person to see this post won't know you didn't mean "latest" for them, they'll think "8.4.2" or whatever the latest is at the moment they are reading it.

Had you supplied the installer you used, I'd be typing instructions right now ...

On some versions:
Code: Select all
/etc/sysconfig/SuSEfirewall2


change

Code: Select all
FW_ALLOW_PING_FW="no"


We also recommend:
Code: Select all
FW_ALLOW_FW_SOURCEQUENCH="no"
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 18582
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby uselessinfoguru » Fri Aug 24, 2018 12:19 pm

Apologies, its ViciBox_v8.x86_64-8.0.1.iso I used to install, and yes both of those are set in SuSEfirewall2..
installation method Vicibox-install
VERSION: 2.14-661a | BUILD: 180222-0017 | Single Server
uselessinfoguru
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby williamconley » Fri Aug 24, 2018 12:55 pm

If you've restarted the firewall after those changes, ping should be off.
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 18582
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby uselessinfoguru » Fri Aug 24, 2018 3:57 pm

I know it should, but can still be pinged... I know it's odd.. I'm thinking the process of upgrading to php7 then installing wordpress did something to overwrite the firewall settings? Or make it so the Ping settings in the firewall are ignored? The whitelisted IPs for all unopened ports still works.
VERSION: 2.14-661a | BUILD: 180222-0017 | Single Server
uselessinfoguru
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby williamconley » Fri Aug 24, 2018 4:12 pm

uselessinfoguru wrote:I know it should, but can still be pinged... I know it's odd.. I'm thinking the process of upgrading to php7 then installing wordpress did something to overwrite the firewall settings? Or make it so the Ping settings in the firewall are ignored? The whitelisted IPs for all unopened ports still works.

Just to be funny: Are you trying to ping from a whitelisted IP? lol
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 18582
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby uselessinfoguru » Fri Aug 24, 2018 8:44 pm

I've tried tunneling then pinging and it's still pingable, but great question lol. My tunneling program may only affect web browsers, not other programs, I should look into that. I was using tunnelbear.
VERSION: 2.14-661a | BUILD: 180222-0017 | Single Server
uselessinfoguru
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby williamconley » Fri Aug 24, 2018 9:03 pm

Likely. Take one of your sites off the Good list and use putty to ping after using putty to ssh to that location. Then you're using another server that should NOT have access to ping the server in question.
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 18582
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby uselessinfoguru » Fri Aug 24, 2018 9:31 pm

Ping works... grr... lol, really don't want to rebuild, even tho it is only a single server
VERSION: 2.14-661a | BUILD: 180222-0017 | Single Server
uselessinfoguru
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby williamconley » Fri Aug 24, 2018 9:33 pm

uselessinfoguru wrote:Ping works... grr... lol

iptables-save

Post the results here. (remove anything you would find personally identifiable ... or change to xx.xx.xx.xx to represent IP addresses)

Also verify your GOOD file doesn't have the IP of the server that Pinged ...
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 18582
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby uselessinfoguru » Fri Aug 24, 2018 9:52 pm

Code: Select all
WhateverIWant:~ # iptables --help
iptables v1.4.21

Usage: iptables -[ACD] chain rule-specification [options]
       iptables -I chain [rulenum] rule-specification [options]
       iptables -R chain rulenum rule-specification [options]
       iptables -D chain rulenum [options]
       iptables -[LS] [chain [rulenum]] [options]
       iptables -[FZ] [chain] [options]
       iptables -[NX] chain
       iptables -E old-chain-name new-chain-name
       iptables -P chain target [options]
       iptables -h (print this help information)

Commands:
Either long or short options are allowed.
  --append  -A chain            Append to chain
  --check   -C chain            Check for the existence of a rule
  --delete  -D chain            Delete matching rule from chain
  --delete  -D chain rulenum
                                Delete rule rulenum (1 = first) from chain
  --insert  -I chain [rulenum]
                                Insert in chain as rulenum (default 1=first)
  --replace -R chain rulenum
                                Replace rule rulenum (1 = first) in chain
  --list    -L [chain [rulenum]]
                                List the rules in a chain or all chains
  --list-rules -S [chain [rulenum]]
                                Print the rules in a chain or all chains
  --flush   -F [chain]          Delete all rules in  chain or all chains
  --zero    -Z [chain [rulenum]]
                                Zero counters in chain or all chains
  --new     -N chain            Create a new user-defined chain
  --delete-chain
            -X [chain]          Delete a user-defined chain
  --policy  -P chain target
                                Change policy on chain to target
  --rename-chain
            -E old-chain new-chain
                                Change chain name, (moving any references)
Options:
    --ipv4      -4              Nothing (line is ignored by ip6tables-restore)
    --ipv6      -6              Error (line is ignored by iptables-restore)
[!] --protocol  -p proto        protocol: by number or name, eg. `tcp'
[!] --source    -s address[/mask][...]
                                source specification
[!] --destination -d address[/mask][...]
                                destination specification
[!] --in-interface -i input name[+]
                                network interface name ([+] for wildcard)
 --jump -j target
                                target for rule (may load target extension)
  --goto      -g chain
                              jump to chain with no return
  --match       -m match
                                extended match (may load extension)
  --numeric     -n              numeric output of addresses and ports
[!] --out-interface -o output name[+]
                                network interface name ([+] for wildcard)
  --table       -t table        table to manipulate (default: `filter')
  --verbose     -v              verbose mode
  --wait        -w              wait for the xtables lock
  --line-numbers                print line numbers when listing
  --exact       -x              expand numbers (display exact values)
[!] --fragment  -f              match second or further fragments only
  --modprobe=<command>          try to insert modules using this command
  --set-counters PKTS BYTES     set the counter during insert/append
[!] --version   -V              print package version.
WhateverIWant:~ # iptables -save
iptables v1.4.21: no command specified
Try `iptables -h' or 'iptables --help' for more information.

VERSION: 2.14-661a | BUILD: 180222-0017 | Single Server
uselessinfoguru
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby uselessinfoguru » Fri Aug 24, 2018 10:00 pm

I do have all http directories whitelisted through httpd.conf that I wish 403 errored on port 80 and 81, and have all other ports closed to non-firewall whitelisted
VERSION: 2.14-661a | BUILD: 180222-0017 | Single Server
uselessinfoguru
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby williamconley » Fri Aug 24, 2018 10:04 pm

you are not very good at copy and paste. I wrote iptables-save and you wrote iptables -save instead of using your copy-paste skills. This is a bad habit, I think. Especially if you don't see the difference between those two.

I also think you tried to apply 'common sense' to 'linux'. Another bad habit. 8-)
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 18582
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby uselessinfoguru » Sat Aug 25, 2018 12:20 am

deleted12345
Last edited by uselessinfoguru on Sat Aug 25, 2018 12:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
VERSION: 2.14-661a | BUILD: 180222-0017 | Single Server
uselessinfoguru
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby uselessinfoguru » Sat Aug 25, 2018 12:23 am

lmao, you are 100% on all of that.
Code: Select all
*filter
:INPUT DROP [0:0]
:FORWARD DROP [0:0]
:OUTPUT ACCEPT [234617:234538329]
:forward_ext - [0:0]
:input_ext - [0:0]
:reject_func - [0:0]
-A INPUT -m set --match-set geoblock src -j DROP
-A INPUT -m set --match-set badips src -j DROP
-A INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT
-A INPUT -m conntrack --ctstate ESTABLISHED -j ACCEPT
-A INPUT -p icmp -m conntrack --ctstate RELATED -j ACCEPT
-A INPUT -j input_ext
-A INPUT -m limit --limit 3/min -j LOG --log-prefix "SFW2-IN-ILL-TARGET " --log-tcp-options --log-ip-options
-A INPUT -j DROP
-A FORWARD -m limit --limit 3/min -j LOG --log-prefix "SFW2-FWD-ILL-ROUTING " --log-tcp-options --log-ip-options
-A OUTPUT -o lo -j ACCEPT
-A input_ext -m pkttype --pkt-type broadcast -j DROP
-A input_ext -p tcp -m limit --limit 3/min -m tcp --dport 80 --tcp-flags FIN,SYN,RST,ACK SYN -j LOG --log-prefix "SFW2-INext-ACC-TCP " --log-tcp-options --log-ip-options
-A input_ext -p tcp -m tcp --dport 80 -j ACCEPT
-A input_ext -p tcp -m limit --limit 3/min -m tcp --dport 81 --tcp-flags FIN,SYN,RST,ACK SYN -j LOG --log-prefix "SFW2-INext-ACC-TCP " --log-tcp-options --log-ip-options
-A input_ext -p tcp -m tcp --dport 81 -j ACCEPT
-A input_ext -s xx.xx.xx.xx/32 -p tcp -m conntrack --ctstate NEW -m limit --limit 3/min -j LOG --log-prefix "SFW2-INext-ACC " --log-tcp-options --log-ip-options
-A input_ext -s xx.xx.xx.xx/32 -p tcp -j ACCEPT
-A input_ext -s xx.xx.xx.xx/32 -p udp -m conntrack --ctstate NEW -m limit --limit 3/min -j LOG --log-prefix "SFW2-INext-ACC " --log-tcp-options --log-ip-options
-A input_ext -s xx.xx.xx.xx/32 -p udp -j ACCEPT
-A input_ext -s 192.168.1.0/24 -p tcp -m conntrack --ctstate NEW -m limit --limit 3/min -j LOG --log-prefix "SFW2-INext-ACC " --log-tcp-options --log-ip-options
-A input_ext -s 192.168.1.0/24 -p tcp -j ACCEPT
-A input_ext -s 192.168.1.0/24 -p udp -m conntrack --ctstate NEW -m limit --limit 3/min -j LOG --log-prefix "SFW2-INext-ACC " --log-tcp-options --log-ip-options
-A input_ext -s 192.168.1.0/24 -p udp -j ACCEPT
-A input_ext -s xx.xx.xx.xx/32 -p tcp -m conntrack --ctstate NEW -m limit --limit 3/min -j LOG --log-prefix "SFW2-INext-ACC " --log-tcp-options --log-ip-options
-A input_ext -s xx.xx.xx.xx/32 -p tcp -j ACCEPT
-A input_ext -s xx.xx.xx.xx/32 -p udp -m conntrack --ctstate NEW -m limit --limit 3/min -j LOG --log-prefix "SFW2-INext-ACC " --log-tcp-options --log-ip-options
-A input_ext -s xx.xx.xx.xx/32 -p udp -j ACCEPT
-A input_ext -s xx.xx.xx.xx/32 -p tcp -m conntrack --ctstate NEW -m limit --limit 3/min -j LOG --log-prefix "SFW2-INext-ACC " --log-tcp-options --log-ip-options
-A input_ext -s xx.xx.xx.xx/32 -p tcp -j ACCEPT
-A input_ext -s xx.xx.xx.xx/32 -p udp -m conntrack --ctstate NEW -m limit --limit 3/min -j LOG --log-prefix "SFW2-INext-ACC " --log-tcp-options --log-ip-options
-A input_ext -s xx.xx.xx.xx/32 -p udp -j ACCEPT
-A input_ext -m comment --comment "sfw2.insert.pos" -m pkttype ! --pkt-type unicast -j DROP
-A input_ext -p tcp -m limit --limit 3/min -m tcp --tcp-flags FIN,SYN,RST,ACK SYN -j LOG --log-prefix "SFW2-INext-DROP-DEFLT " --log-tcp-options --log-ip-options
-A input_ext -p icmp -m limit --limit 3/min -j LOG --log-prefix "SFW2-INext-DROP-DEFLT " --log-tcp-options --log-ip-options
-A input_ext -p udp -m limit --limit 3/min -m conntrack --ctstate NEW -j LOG --log-prefix "SFW2-INext-DROP-DEFLT " --log-tcp-options --log-ip-options
-A input_ext -j DROP
-A reject_func -p tcp -j REJECT --reject-with tcp-reset
-A reject_func -p udp -j REJECT --reject-with icmp-port-unreachable
-A reject_func -j REJECT --reject-with icmp-proto-unreachable
COMMIT


and from SuSEfirewall2
Code: Select all
# defaults to "yes" if not set
#
FW_ALLOW_PING_FW="no"

## Type:        yesno
#
# Allow hosts in the dmz to be pinged from hosts in other zones even
# if neither FW_FORWARD nor FW_MASQUERADE is set
#
# Requires: FW_ROUTE
#
# defaults to "no" if not set
#
FW_ALLOW_PING_DMZ=""

## Type:        yesno
#
# Allow hosts in the external zone to be pinged from hosts in other
# zones even if neither FW_FORWARD nor FW_MASQUERADE is set
#
# Requires: FW_ROUTE
#
# defaults to "no" if not set
#
FW_ALLOW_PING_EXT="no"

## Type:        yesno
#
# Allow ICMP sourcequench from your ISP?
#
# If set to yes, the firewall will notice when connection is choking, however
# this opens yourself to a denial of service attack. Choose your poison.
#
# Defaults to "yes" if not set
#
FW_ALLOW_FW_SOURCEQUENCH="no"
VERSION: 2.14-661a | BUILD: 180222-0017 | Single Server
uselessinfoguru
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby williamconley » Sat Aug 25, 2018 9:39 am

Turning off ping won't help much. You have port 80 open to the world.
Code: Select all
-A input_ext -p tcp -m tcp --dport 80 -j ACCEPT

Otherwise I don't see anything that would accept a ping packet except these if the source in question already has a connection:
Code: Select all
-A INPUT -m conntrack --ctstate ESTABLISHED -j ACCEPT
-A INPUT -p icmp -m conntrack --ctstate RELATED -j ACCEPT


Consider removing
Code: Select all
-A INPUT -j input_ext


Temporarily (at the cli instead of configuration) with:
Code: Select all
iptables -D INPUT -j input_ext


To confirm that the problem is in the base INPUT chain. Then remove the ESTABLISHED and RELATED entries.

Of course, you can only do this if directly at the server's kbd or you'll lose contact (unless you add your own IP in the INPUT chain before you begin).
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 18582
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby uselessinfoguru » Sat Aug 25, 2018 10:46 am

TY! I will try this when I'm at the server.
VERSION: 2.14-661a | BUILD: 180222-0017 | Single Server
uselessinfoguru
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby williamconley » Sat Aug 25, 2018 10:49 am

Do note that if this server is on a private network, it's likely your router responding to ping. IE: If your server is in DMZ of a private network, the router is passing all traffic to the server, but not Really ... some decisions are still made by the router (like ... ping).
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 18582
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby uselessinfoguru » Thu Dec 06, 2018 6:54 pm

Good call Will, router is controlling ping, which never gets to the server unless connection is already established.
VERSION: 2.14-661a | BUILD: 180222-0017 | Single Server
uselessinfoguru
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby uselessinfoguru » Thu Dec 06, 2018 6:57 pm

And as Ping of death isn't the concern it was in the 90s and I have ports 80 and 81 open I suppose it doesn't really matter, I can control access very well through http.d config.
VERSION: 2.14-661a | BUILD: 180222-0017 | Single Server
uselessinfoguru
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby williamconley » Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:07 pm

Live and learn. If the script kiddies get wind that your server is available on the net, you'll get more and more attempts. Ping of death (DDoS from Ping overload) is not prevalent, but there are a lot more kiddies out there who share IP addresses and then all check for openings. Regularly. If they find so much as a single login page to attempt, you'll have a party eventually. If you lock out fails: Eventually you'll have multiple rotating IP attacks, too. That gets annoying after a while, especially if they raise the bar and hit you so hard from enough IPs that you end up with DDoS again (it'll feel like that anyway, even though it's just Brute Force password hackers).

Whitelist, my friend: Whitelist.

But by all means, don't take my word for it. Leave 80 open and let us know how long it goes before you get annoyed enough to close it. Always interested in hearing how long it takes these days, even if it's different for everyone ... every vote counts. 8-)
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 18582
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby uselessinfoguru » Thu Dec 13, 2018 5:44 pm

I'll keep you updated lol, so far, nothing, oh the web directories are whitelisted, btw, through http.d so, the only access outside our internal network is to the wordpress website. All other web directories throw a 403 error.
VERSION: 2.14-661a | BUILD: 180222-0017 | Single Server
uselessinfoguru
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby williamconley » Thu Dec 13, 2018 6:04 pm

uselessinfoguru wrote:I'll keep you updated lol, so far, nothing, oh the web directories are whitelisted, btw, through http.d so, the only access outside our internal network is to the wordpress website. All other web directories throw a 403 error.

Put the wordpress on the cloud. Those are some cheap servers and a DOS attack there won't affect dialing.

Be sure to password protect the admin folder on wordpress using the appropriate apache module. It's an attack vector. Same with phpMyAdmin. If you check your logs, both should have plenty of traffic that has nothing to do with actual humans browsing. 8-)
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 18582
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby uselessinfoguru » Mon Dec 17, 2018 9:58 am

ran iftop
It's showing no connections that shouldn't be there. Seems pretty secure regardless of port 80 being open.
VERSION: 2.14-661a | BUILD: 180222-0017 | Single Server
uselessinfoguru
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby williamconley » Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:49 pm

iftop shows "right now". So if you aren't being actively attacked, it will show nothing. Your iptables configuration, however, may have some system or firewall logging in effect to show dropped packets. Those have been know to show "2AM brute force attacks" that end before you open in the morning.

Apache logs (and error logs) have been known to be quite useful in this regard as well.

In any event: Good luck. Report back if/when you get an attack with how long you went without one. Good to know. 8-)
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 18582
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby dspaan » Wed Jan 02, 2019 7:13 pm

Don't install Wordpress on a vicidial machine, it's just asking for trouble. And no benefit.

Also, use Wordfence. You'll be amazed to see how many attacks your website is getting.
Regards, Dennis

Vicibox 8.1.2
Version: 2.14-704a
SVN Version: 3078
DB Schema Version: 1566
Build: 190312-0928
dspaan
 
Posts: 1191
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby williamconley » Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:21 am

dspaan wrote:Don't install Wordpress on a vicidial machine, it's just asking for trouble. And no benefit.

Also, use Wordfence. You'll be amazed to see how many attacks your website is getting.

Concur, except we use All In One WP Security & Firewall which is free. We live and work in the Open Source Free world. I'm opposed to paying for the software or the service and most especially "licensing" fees.

https://www.tipsandtricks-hq.com/wordpr ... all-plugin
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 18582
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby dspaan » Thu Jan 03, 2019 4:32 am

Wordfence is free too.
Regards, Dennis

Vicibox 8.1.2
Version: 2.14-704a
SVN Version: 3078
DB Schema Version: 1566
Build: 190312-0928
dspaan
 
Posts: 1191
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 1:40 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby williamconley » Thu Jan 03, 2019 5:34 pm

lol: I looked at their site and it didn't mention the free option(s).

They also apparently have 30% more installs than AOIWPS and more reviews. Both, however have almost all 5 star review (which is impressive, actually).

I may try yours on a few honey pot sites and see how it behaves.
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 18582
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby uselessinfoguru » Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:03 pm

Still going, vicidial/php7/wordpress integrated. 0 hackers. ports 80-81 open
VERSION: 2.14-661a | BUILD: 180222-0017 | Single Server
uselessinfoguru
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby williamconley » Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:16 pm

uselessinfoguru wrote:0 hackers

What do you mean by that, exactly? Nobody has broken in, or there have been no attempts?

Cuz if you have NO attempts, it's not going to be this module. If you have NO successful hacks, beware of the empirical evidence trap. Just because you put your foot on the brake pedal 8500 times over 5 years doesn't mean try number 8501 will be successful.

We've never had a successful breakin either, and that includes before we added the module (zero protection, naked wordpress). But it has been very helpful in identifying and locking out IPs and Subnets to avoid even allowing brute force attacks to happen. We put the security module in place because we know that Eventually a user will have a simple password and a brute force May Succeed.
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 18582
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby uselessinfoguru » Fri Feb 08, 2019 5:06 pm

0 successful, China, Russia, India, especially India, I see the attempts, but they go no where.
VERSION: 2.14-661a | BUILD: 180222-0017 | Single Server
uselessinfoguru
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby williamconley » Fri Feb 08, 2019 5:54 pm

Define "go nowhere"? Do they make an attempt to log in? Do they "GET" or "POST" to the login page? How about the xmlrpc login page?

If so, then you're in empirical territory. Cuz they make attempts that fail. They can make a million failed attempts (or more) before they get a success. They only need that one success.

So the goal is: If they make ONE attempt, they don't get a chance to make another. No brute force capability. In fact, if they make ONE attempt (and fail) against ONE site, they should be blocked from ALL sites from that moment forward. If they make one attempt from a dozen IPs in a single subnet, the entire subnet should be blocked to avoid rotating IP brute force attacks.

Food for thought.

We have some nice honeypot sites for just such an occasion. 8-)
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 18582
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby uselessinfoguru » Mon Feb 11, 2019 10:08 am

The attempts are not making it to any login pages.
They simply check out every page of the website, can not get to /wp-admin, can not get to /phpMyAdmin, can not get to /vicidial ... they leave.
VERSION: 2.14-661a | BUILD: 180222-0017 | Single Server
uselessinfoguru
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Turning off Ping after upgrades

Postby williamconley » Mon Feb 11, 2019 3:03 pm

i hope you're basing this on the access log as well as the error log. since the error log would ONLY show failures, and completely ignore successes. it can be a big problem if you don't know about login attempts in the various wordpress, phpmyadmin, ssh, ftp locations. if left to continue guessing they can become problematic. lol

more importantly: if someone is looking for the /vicidial folder, you have a non-standard attacker. NOBODY looks for /vicidial on a wordpress system. vicidial attackers usually look for phpmyadmin or attempt port 5060 registrations or calls, they rarely bother with web logins at all. unless you have vicidial on the same server and the logs are combined, of course, you shouldn't even have the word vicidial in your apache logs. we don't have Vicidial on the same server as wordpress anywhere.
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 18582
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)


Return to Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests