whats the reason for looping a inbound call to a local trunk

Discussions about development of VICIDIAL and astGUIclient

Moderators: gerski, enjay, williamconley, Op3r, Staydog, gardo, mflorell, MJCoate, mcargile, Kumba, Michael_N

whats the reason for looping a inbound call to a local trunk

Postby bobbymc » Wed Oct 01, 2014 9:59 pm

i use the latest svn trunk of vicidial, with asterisk 1.8

i was wondering what the reason is for this specific dial plan?

exten => _90009.,1,Answer() ; Answer() the li$
exten => _90009.,2,Dial(${TRUNKloop}/9${EXTEN},,to)
exten => _90009.,3,Hangup()

i dont see a reason why to waste another channel to send the call back to ourselves?
bobbymc
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 12:26 am

Re: whats the reason for looping a inbound call to a local t

Postby geoff3dmg » Thu Oct 02, 2014 3:10 am

Sending a call via the Trunkloop causes the NVA-recording.agi script to be called.
Vicibox 5.03 from .iso | VERSION: 2.10-451a BUILD: 140902-0816 | Asterisk 1.8.28.2-vici | Multi-Server | Amfeltec H/W Timing Cards | No Extra Software After Installation | Dell PowerEdge 1850 | Pentium 4 'Prescott' Xenon Quad @ 3.40GHz
geoff3dmg
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 4:35 am
Location: Lancashire, UK

Re: whats the reason for looping a inbound call to a local t

Postby bobbymc » Thu Oct 02, 2014 10:06 am

I don't see that agi script called anywhere in that dialplan ?
bobbymc
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 12:26 am

Re: whats the reason for looping a inbound call to a local t

Postby bobbymc » Thu Oct 02, 2014 10:12 am

matt can you possibly comment on this post?
bobbymc
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 12:26 am

Re: whats the reason for looping a inbound call to a local t

Postby geoff3dmg » Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:13 am

You are sort of right. The TRUNKloop global points to IAX2/ASTloop (check /etc/asterisk/iax2-vicidial.conf). This goes out to the ip_relay (see /usr/share/astguiclient/ip_relay/relay_control) and comes straight back into the system again on the default context. There's quite a few reasons you'd want to have a server be able to send a call back to itself. One, as I've touched on is to record 3-way transfers after the agent has hungup. Another reason is to generate a ringing tone when dialling. Thirdly you can use the TRUNKloop for load testing.

Edit: Also might be used for blind monitoring. Not sure though.
Vicibox 5.03 from .iso | VERSION: 2.10-451a BUILD: 140902-0816 | Asterisk 1.8.28.2-vici | Multi-Server | Amfeltec H/W Timing Cards | No Extra Software After Installation | Dell PowerEdge 1850 | Pentium 4 'Prescott' Xenon Quad @ 3.40GHz
geoff3dmg
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 4:35 am
Location: Lancashire, UK

Re: whats the reason for looping a inbound call to a local t

Postby bobbymc » Thu Oct 02, 2014 1:20 pm

Those all make sense but it would be a waste to send inbound calls from agents to ingroups via the loop correct ?
bobbymc
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 12:26 am

Re: whats the reason for looping a inbound call to a local t

Postby geoff3dmg » Fri Oct 03, 2014 2:53 am

There's no need to do that afaik. The agents can just transfer to a local closer which ends up in an ingroup? At least that is what I have setup here.
Vicibox 5.03 from .iso | VERSION: 2.10-451a BUILD: 140902-0816 | Asterisk 1.8.28.2-vici | Multi-Server | Amfeltec H/W Timing Cards | No Extra Software After Installation | Dell PowerEdge 1850 | Pentium 4 'Prescott' Xenon Quad @ 3.40GHz
geoff3dmg
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 4:35 am
Location: Lancashire, UK

Re: whats the reason for looping a inbound call to a local t

Postby mflorell » Fri Oct 03, 2014 5:01 am

The problem that this solves is related to Local/ channels and their inconsistent behavior in different versions of Asterisk. Sending the call through the IAX2 loop gives a proper resolved channel pointer that doesn't change or go away after it's answered, which is why it is set up to work the way it does.
mflorell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17611
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Florida

Re: whats the reason for looping a inbound call to a local t

Postby bobbymc » Wed Oct 08, 2014 7:47 pm

yea i know exacly what you mean, sometimes the channel is kept as local when it should be sip/...
bobbymc
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 12:26 am

Re: whats the reason for looping a inbound call to a local t

Postby Kabis » Wed Oct 14, 2020 8:00 am

Without Trunkloop(ASTloop) can we generate Ring back tone on 3 way call?

Else without IAX trunk can we do?
We are ready to help you,
Regards,
KABIS,
Email ID: kabisforu@gmail.com
Website: www.kabis.org.in
Skype: kabisforu
Kabis
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:08 am
Location: India


Return to Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests