Page 1 of 1

Agents Hitting "ENTER" More than one call

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 7:44 pm
by Nefariousparity
Hi, today I discovered something.

When the agent is in one call, and if there are a few in queue. If he hits enter repeatedly, he can continue bringing calls from queue into his conference which results in numerous confused customers and one agent.

Now, it is rather hilarious, can be a problem if more Agents discover this.

I do not have the hot keys turned on. Is this a bug?

This is during a predictive outbound campaign. Normal agent user level 1.

Re: Agents Hitting "ENTER" More than one call

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2013 6:39 pm
by williamconley
1) Good job posting your system specs ... but: please move your build number next to your Vicidial version number. LOL. They are actually very related. Please also state whether there is extra software installed on the server and if this is a standalone server. Very useful information in this situation!

2) you should seriously consider upgrading (to see if the bug is fixed) or installing in a virtual machine to see if the bug has been resolved (and upgrade if it has ...)

3) When you say "If he hits enter repeatedly", you mean the simple act if hitting "enter" on the keyboard? Nothing else? And you've managed to recreate this error repeatedly? Is this after clicking in a particular field on the agent screen? Or is hitting enter when NOT clicking a particular field required?

4) You could consider a packet capture on a test workstation to see what is being sent when this happens ...

Re: Agents Hitting "ENTER" More than one call

PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 2:21 pm
by Nefariousparity
1) Good job posting your system specs ... but: please move your build number next to your Vicidial version number. LOL. They are actually very related. Please also state whether there is extra software installed on the server and if this is a standalone server. Very useful information in this situation!

Will Do!

2) you should seriously consider upgrading (to see if the bug is fixed) or installing in a virtual machine to see if the bug has been resolved (and upgrade if it has ...)

Oh god, I am so terrified of doing upgrades. I phjear things will break, and oh dear all my customization.

3)When you say "If he hits enter repeatedly", you mean the simple act if hitting "enter" on the keyboard? Nothing else? And you've managed to recreate this error repeatedly? Is this after clicking in a particular field on the agent screen? Or is hitting enter when NOT clicking a particular field required?

Yes, the simple act of hitting the "Enter Key", Nothing Else. Yes I have managed to re-create this several times. Same workstation though.

Running a Pcap on the workstation or the dialer? I have never done that in Windows if it is the workstation.

As usual! Thanks again William!

Re: Agents Hitting "ENTER" More than one call

PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 3:15 pm
by williamconley
Please do test it on another workstation. LOL

And if the workstation is windows you can try wireshark. Nice app. Handy for troubleshooting communications (and capturing them).

Re: Agents Hitting "ENTER" More than one call

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2013 1:43 pm
by Nefariousparity
William sorry it took me a minute to get back to you. I tried this on another workstation and was able to replicate the issue.

While waiting for a call on a predictive outbound blended campaign, if the Agent repeatedly hits the enter key, they will bring more than one customer into a conference.

The Agent Machines are Duel Core Intel, 4GB memory, Windows Seven using X-Lite.

My signature is accurate as to my versions of software.

Re: Agents Hitting "ENTER" More than one call

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2013 8:57 pm
by williamconley
Cool. Now try wireshark and see if you can find the difference between that workstation pressing enter and another workstation NOT pressing enter. or "what is sent" when they press enter.

Re: Agents Hitting "ENTER" More than one call

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 2:55 am
by Vince-0
I've seen this happen at two different sites, same agent. I saw the agent use the call log list on the agent screen and by holding in the enter button force multiple calls in quick succession and enough to effectively crash Asterisk 1.4.

The quick fix in this case was just to disable the "Agent Call Log View Override" user permission.

This was on Vicidial 2.6 at the time and has since been upgraded but I haven't tested this case since.

Vin.

Re: Agents Hitting "ENTER" More than one call

PostPosted: Fri Dec 13, 2013 12:30 pm
by Nefariousparity
1) William, I will try to get to this testing today. Looks like I might be upgrading over the weekend, as I said before though I get nervous because I have done upgrades in the past that have gotten me the dreaded "NaNaNaNa" or simply not worked. Would not be good if I toasted the server.

2) Vince, thank you for the call back. I could disable the call log. I Just wanted to make a note that when they are doing this, they are not in the call log, they are at the screen with all the fields waiting for a customer call.

Re: Agents Hitting "ENTER" More than one call

PostPosted: Sat Dec 14, 2013 5:28 pm
by williamconley
Nefariousparity wrote:2) Vince, thank you for the call back. I could disable the call log. I Just wanted to make a note that when they are doing this, they are not in the call log, they are at the screen with all the fields waiting for a customer call.

Vince-0 wrote:I saw the agent use the call log list on the agent screen and by holding in the enter button force multiple calls in quick succession

We appear to be finding a pattern. Packet communications, or sql logging from an occurrence in the php file that the agent page feeds from (in addition to the page itself) could lead to a resolution. Especially if this is still possible in later versions.

Re: Agents Hitting "ENTER" More than one call

PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2013 6:00 pm
by Nefariousparity
Very interesting indeed.

Re: Agents Hitting "ENTER" More than one call

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2014 1:00 am
by williamconley
Code: Select all
<script type="text/javascript">

function stopRKey(evt) {
  var evt = (evt) ? evt : ((event) ? event : null);
  var node = (evt.target) ? evt.target : ((evt.srcElement) ? evt.srcElement : null);
  if ((evt.keyCode == 13) && (node.type=="text"))  {return false;}
}

document.onkeypress = stopRKey;

</script>

http://webcheatsheet.com/javascript/dis ... er_key.php

Haven't tried it.

Re: Agents Hitting "ENTER" More than one call

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2014 5:41 am
by mflorell
We fixed an issue related to this last month in svn/trunk. Please upgrade and test and let us know if this is still a problem.

Re: Agents Hitting "ENTER" More than one call

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2014 8:53 pm
by Nefariousparity
Wow, thanks MFlorrel! Great work keep it up!