Page 1 of 1

ViciDialNOW install on virtualbox with bridged network<MO

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 2:07 am
by dennisharrison
downloaded
(not allowed to post links)

MD5 checksum is good

Get through the installer where it advises you to eject media and reboot.

On reboot I see some post install stuff running in init (so it looks normal so far)

When I finally get my mitts on the prompt I can find no asterisk/vicidial/astguiclient ... etc.

Did I miss a step?

Anyhow, if I can get this working I'll upload a few scripts to automate control of the virtual machine and related networking.

Thanks for your time and effort! :)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 6:03 am
by gardo
It hasn't been tested with VirtualBox before being released. The workaround for that is to manually untar vicidial.tar.gz from the cd and run the install script.

#mount /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom
#cd /root
#tar zxvf /mnt/cdrom/vicidial.tar.gz
#cd Vicidial
#sh install_vici.sh

Reboot your system after installation has been completed.

Worked like a charm

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 5:17 pm
by dennisharrison
Thank you very much gardo :)

are you interested in hosting a virtualbox image w/ management scripts?

Now all I have to do is figure out how to make this talk to the trixbox and asterisk@home servers and maybe write a specific tut for as close to an ootb experience as possible for other people interested in this.

Anyone have notes already?

My thanks to all responsible parties involved with vicidial and related projects!

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 8:18 pm
by gardo
I'm currently testing vicidialnow inside virtualbox. If you can contribute those management scripts and a description on what they do that would be great.

here is a simple script for setting a bridge and tap first

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:07 am
by dennisharrison
You will need to set the network device on your virtualbox machine to whatever you call your tap interface. tap1 in this case. Specify in the network adapter options for your virtualbox that you want to use host interface and enter the tap interface.

If anyone needs help with turning something like this into a startup script or something similar let me know.

Personally, I am adding some service scripts for daemontools because I use that to manage services on my boxes.

Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
echo "Creating TAP interface (tap1)"
tunctl -t tap1 -u <MACHINE_NAME>
echo "TAP interface Created (tap1)"
echo "Creating Bridge Interface (br0)"
brctl addbr br0
echo "Created Bridge Interface (br0)"
echo "Making promiscuous (eth0)"
ifconfig eth0 0.0.0.0 promisc
echo "Oh Baby!"
echo "Link Bridge Interface and Host Interface (br0 and eth0)"
brctl addif br0 eth0
echo "DHCP for Bridge Interface (br0)"
dhclient br0
echo "Turning on the TAP (tap1)"
brctl addif br0 tap1
ifconfig tap1 up
echo "Lets make sure we can use what we need"
chmod 0666 /dev/net/tun
echo "Go Vici, it's your birthday!"
vboxmanage startvm ViciDialNow


you can then control it with:

vboxmanage controlvm ViciDialNow

pause|resume|reset|poweroff|savestate|acpipowerbutton|setlinkstate<1-4> on|off