Scratch-installation error:crontab

All installation and configuration problems and questions

Moderators: gerski, enjay, williamconley, Op3r, Staydog, gardo, mflorell, MJCoate, mcargile, Kumba, Michael_N

Scratch-installation error:crontab

Postby ruben23 » Mon Dec 08, 2008 1:30 pm

hi im setting up crontab -e and i input this data form scratch installation:

### recording mixing for Asterisk run every 5 minutes
1,6,11,16,21,26,31,36,41,46,51,56 * * *
1,2,3,4,5,6 /usr/share/astguiclient/AST_CRON_mix_recordings_BASIC.pl
### keepalive script for astguiclient processes
* * * * * /usr/share/astguiclient/ADMIN_keepalive_ALL.pl
### kill Hangup script for Asterisk updaters
* * * * * /usr/share/astguiclient/AST_manager_kill_hung_congested.pl
### updater for voicemail
* * * * * /usr/share/astguiclient/AST_vm_update.pl
### updater for conference validator
* * * * * /usr/share/astguiclient/AST_conf_update.pl
### flush queue DB table every hour for entries older than 1 hour
11 * * * * /usr/share/astguiclient/AST_flush_DBqueue.pl -q
### fix the vicidial_agent_log once every hour
33 * * * * /usr/share/astguiclient/AST_cleanup_agent_log.pl
### updater for VICIDIAL hopper
* * * * * /usr/share/astguiclient/AST_VDhopper.pl -q
### adjust the GMT offset for the leads in the vicidial_list table
1 1 * * * /usr/share/astguiclient/ADMIN_adjust_GMTnow_on_leads.pl --
debug --postal-code-gmt
### reset several temporary-info tables in the database
2 1 * * * /usr/share/astguiclient/AST_reset_mysql_vars.pl
### optimize the database tables within the asterisk database
3 1 * * * /usr/share/astguiclient/AST_DB_optimize.pl
## adjust time on the server with ntp
30 * * * * /usr/local/bin/ntpdate -u 18.145.0.30 2>/dev/null 1>&2
### VICIDIAL agent time log weekly summary report generation
2 0 * * 0 /usr/share/astguiclient/AST_agent_week.pl

then after saving i got this error: Its saying Bad week of a day do you want to reconfigure......what could be the problem.......im guessing this might be problem with ntp..coz when i run/usr/local/bin/ntpdate -u 18.145.0.30 error is ntpdate [3403] no server suitable for synchronization found...

anyone can help..
ruben23
 
Posts: 1161
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:35 am
Location: Davao City, Philippines

Postby okli » Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:02 pm

I would double check syntax, new line, weird characters etc.
You may add this at the top of crontab for a quick reference:

Code: Select all
#Minute (0-59),
#|      Hour (0-23),
#|      |       Day of the month (1-31),
#|      |       |       Month of the year (1-12),
#|      |       |       |       Day of the week (0-6 with 0=Sunday).
#|      |       |       |       |       Commands
#|      |       |       |       |       |
#----------------------------------------------------------
############################################


Use code tags when posting sensitive to formatting text, right now it's unclear if this for example is on a new row or not:
1,2,3,4,5,6 /usr/share/astguiclient/AST_CRON_mix_recordings_BASIC.pl

It must be one whole line:
Code: Select all
1,6,11,16,21,26,31,36,41,46,51,56 * * * 1,2,3,4,5,6 /usr/share/astguiclient/AST_CRON_mix_recordings_BASIC.pl
okli
 
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 5:09 pm

Postby ruben23 » Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:10 pm

how anout my error with ntp.....

when i run /usr/local/bin/ntpdate -u 18.145.0.30

i got this error: no server suitable for synchronization found..
ruben23
 
Posts: 1161
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:35 am
Location: Davao City, Philippines

Postby okli » Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:16 pm

A quick Google search for "no server suitable for synchronization found" ntp
First result-
http://docs.hp.com/en/B2355-90685/ch07s03.html
No Server Suitable for synchronization found.

This message indicates that the NTP server is not responding for some reason. Packets were sent out, but no reply was returned. Perhaps the server is down, or the network link is broken or extremely congested. Or perhaps the NTP daemon died on the server and has not yet locked on to its time sources. NTP version 3.5 and above take between 5 and 15 minutes after starting up the daemon to synchronize, and it will not respond to client requests during this time.


Is this the case?
okli
 
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 5:09 pm

Postby ruben23 » Mon Dec 08, 2008 7:12 pm

hi im still getting the same error anyone can help..... :(
ruben23
 
Posts: 1161
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:35 am
Location: Davao City, Philippines

Postby mflorell » Tue Dec 09, 2008 12:42 am

Yes, that server recently stopped responding to ntp requests. I had been using it for years and had to change that on all of my managed systems in the last week.

I would suggest going to the NTP website and finding an NTP server close to your area to use to synchronize your servers to:
http://support.ntp.org/bin/view/Servers ... ime_Server
mflorell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 18339
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Florida

Postby okli » Tue Dec 09, 2008 2:07 am

Mmm, I checked when I first replied, here is it again:

Code: Select all
maxfone:~# /usr/sbin/ntpdate -u 18.145.0.30
 8 Dec 23:02:06 ntpdate[27683]: adjust time server 18.145.0.30 offset -0.000671 sec
maxfone:~#
okli
 
Posts: 669
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 5:09 pm

Postby mflorell » Tue Dec 09, 2008 6:26 pm

Maybe they were just working on it, anyway, we went ahead and changed systems to using the pool ntp servers for more reliability.
mflorell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 18339
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Florida

Postby ruben23 » Wed Dec 10, 2008 8:26 am

hi i got this problem....actually it not with my NTP server....

This line causes the problem: this should be a single line, i use double..then after saving...got no error no more...thanks to all support

1 1 * * * /usr/share/astguiclient/ADMIN_adjust_GMTnow_on_leads.pl --
debug --postal-code-gmt
ruben23
 
Posts: 1161
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:35 am
Location: Davao City, Philippines


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 276 guests