VICIDIAL ACCESS LOCAL

All installation and configuration problems and questions

Moderators: gerski, enjay, williamconley, Op3r, Staydog, gardo, mflorell, MJCoate, mcargile, Kumba, Michael_N

VICIDIAL ACCESS LOCAL

Postby ruben23 » Sat Mar 02, 2019 3:49 am

Version: 2.14b0.5
SVN Version: 2812
DB Schema Version: 1523
Asterisk 1.8
Ubuntu Server 12.04.5 LTS 64bit

Hi there guys i have access with a local Vicidial on my local network, but i access it by htt://1.0.0.0.2/vicidial/welcome.php is it possible to replaced the IP address part with a Name or a local hostname somehow not exactly a real domain since all the PC on the call area are not allowed for internet access, Thanks
SkypeID: rlacumba
IBM x3200 Dual Core 2.4 Ghz.
4GB Ram
VERSION: 2.4-311a
BUILD: 110514-1351
© 2011 ViciDial Group
Asterisk 1.4.27-vici
Another VICI_day, same trunK, same Channel-->Transcode...
ruben23
 
Posts: 1126
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:35 am
Location: Davao City, Philippines

Re: VICIDIAL ACCESS LOCAL

Postby williamconley » Sat Mar 02, 2019 10:53 am

1) Since you did not use an .iso installer for vici: It's best to include the installation instructions you used (link).

2) Please consider using a standards-based local network. This would be either 192.168.X.X or 10.X.X.X. This protects you from unusual problems/conflicts with real public IPs (and is why those "defined" local networks actually exist).

3) If you have a private network and that private network has a DHCP server handing out IP addresses, it also hands out DNS server assignments. Then, of course, you can have a DNS server on the local network. What you describe is precisely the job of a DNS server. It converts domain names to IP addresses. So if one of your workstation browsers tried to find "dialer1", the DNS server would convert that to "10.0.0.1" or whatever the local IP is.

4) Alternately, these can be hard-coded into the /etc/hosts file of linux workstations or the c:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts file on Windows workstations: But that is a bit counterintuitive since the work needed to manually put those values in each of those files AND go back and change them all if you ever need to is why DNS servers exist. To avoid that manual-on-every-machine complexity.

5) None of which is related to Vicidial, of course, but is still a Support question and not a "General Discussion". moving to the support board.
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 18945
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: VICIDIAL ACCESS LOCAL

Postby rrb555 » Sat May 11, 2019 1:12 am

Yes that is possible as long as u have a local DNS server. or u may want to edit the host file of every computer that would convert mydialer.domain to 1.0.0.0 IP
One server that I am managing | Single Server | ViciBox Redux 6.0 | VERSION: 2.12-549a | BUILD: 160404-0940 | revision 2508| No other hardware
For help you can send me a direct email info@support.com.ph
rrb555
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 4:24 pm
Location: Quezon City, Philippines

Re: VICIDIAL ACCESS LOCAL

Postby williamconley » Wed May 15, 2019 12:55 pm

rrb555 wrote:Yes that is possible as long as u have a local DNS server. or u may want to edit the host file of every computer that would convert mydialer.domain to 1.0.0.0 IP

Actually that's a very good point. I've even had a couple PUBLIC domain servers that would allow settings DNS to a private IP address. We had a couple servers that were pointed to 192.168.1.X by using DNS at ... Godaddy? I forget where it was. But that was even free. Before we began using our own DNS servers, of course, after we got into email servers (many of which, oddly enough, required local DNS resolution during setup).

Some ROUTERS will even manage this for you if you configure them properly. Some can even do so automatically when the server registers via DHCP.
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 18945
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 24 guests