8 Network Cards in Network Setting

All installation and configuration problems and questions

Moderators: gerski, enjay, williamconley, Op3r, Staydog, gardo, mflorell, MJCoate, mcargile, Kumba, Michael_N

8 Network Cards in Network Setting

Postby Smarthome » Mon Dec 31, 2018 6:36 pm

Guys,

i'm new with Vici Dial and still trying to learn its tricks and treats.

My server has 1 built in network card (1gbps each 4 ports) & 1 additional Network Card (1gbs each 4 ports).

when ever i go to "yast lan" instead of seeing 1 or 2 network cards it shows me 8 different cards to do the setting against them, as per demo and online tutorial, i assigned 1 static IP and did IPV4 setting and connected my internet lan into it and it started to work like it suppose to work in demo video.

However; my computers are unable to connect to server or internet if i plug lan wire into empty ports on my server machine ! it keep showing [yellow (!) mark] on the computer that is connected on other ports of the server.

in "yast Lan" only 1st card/lan port is assigned Static ip while others are on default setting (DHCP).

When i connect same lan wire to my internet router, it connects me to server aswell the internet starts to work !

Please guide me how can i use the built in ports to connect my computers to Vicibox server instead of buying an additional switch because i cannot afford to buy a switch after spending such a big fortune on this server and built in additional switch to avoid buying rack and switches.

looking forward for your help

Email:- arslan@smarthomeconnexus.com

Regards,
Arslan Naeem
Smarthome

Re: 8 Network Cards in Network Setting

Postby ngtechnologies » Tue Jan 01, 2019 1:08 am

Simple way, and cheap is buy a simple 8port switch and not worry about it. $20USD
https://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-Ethernet-Unmanaged-Internet-Splitter/dp/B00KFD0SEA/ref=pd_lpo_vtph_147_bs_t_1/142-7917034-2461807?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=2PYD5B87JBETRRCA6VZ6