Page 1 of 1

Update existing list

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 4:51 pm
by donegalguy2
Hi there.

I have a question with regards to updating a list that is preloaded with additional info.

I have loaded a substatianal list 7k and have a client in their wisdom who has decided to add an additional security question. Half the numbers have already been called on the list (ok be positive I can fix half of them handy enough in a two step process but would prefer one). So now we have to append 7k records with additional information. Can we append this by using lead_id or something I think I vaguely remember. I had the manual but I think it is on an old broke laptop that I need to whip the hard drive out off.

I also considered downloading the list and amending in excel and reuploading but I think I will lose callbacks and notes. Is this the case

Any help gratefully accepted.

Thanks
Rick

VERSION: 2.12-575a
BUILD: 161113-0900

Re: Update existing list

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 5:19 pm
by blackbird2306
Are these additional informations in custom fields section? Is this additional security question always the same in every lead? Be more precise

Re: Update existing list

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 5:37 pm
by williamconley
http://www.vicidial.org/VICIDIALforum/v ... =4&t=27130

Directly making the changes is also possible via phpMyAdmin or at the CLI if you are in any way comfortable with MySQL.

Re: Update existing list

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 5:58 pm
by blackbird2306
The non agent api or MySQL are possible, but we are talking about 7000 leads

Re: Update existing list

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 6:46 pm
by williamconley
blackbird2306 wrote:The non agent api or MySQL are possible, but we are talking about 7000 leads

True. I wouldn't recommend trying to hand-code it. 8-)

Re: Update existing list

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 5:00 pm
by donegalguy2
Hi Guys

Thanks for the advice. I will post an update of how I completed this.

I had to give remote access to the mysql database - this is pretty standard across all myql servers - I created a new user for this other then root. SO log into mysql on the server and create user ie.

select user, host, password from mysql.user;
use mysql;
update user set password=PASSWORD("NEWPASSWORD") where User='root';
flush privileges;

I restart my vicidial server every night as it can sometimes give a few issues.

Now that the mysql database can be connected remotely - I still have to open the opensuse firewall:
rcSuSEfirewall2 stop (if I forget to restart the firewall the system restart will mean that it will be reset at night)

I than use NAVICAT for mysql to access the mysql databases and voila they are all there and I can update anything by copying and pasting from excel.

Hope this helps somebody else.

Re: Update existing list

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 5:06 pm
by donegalguy2
Sorry guys the wrong mysql user create script

CREATE USER 'myuser'@'localhost' IDENTIFIED BY 'mypass';
CREATE USER 'myuser'@'%' IDENTIFIED BY 'mypass';
Then

GRANT ALL ON *.* TO 'myuser'@'localhost';
GRANT ALL ON *.* TO 'myuser'@'%';

and importantly you need to change the my.cnf

my.cnf (my.ini on windows)

#Replace xxx with your IP Address
bind-address = xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx