ping: unknown host google.com

All installation and configuration problems and questions

Moderators: gerski, enjay, williamconley, Op3r, Staydog, gardo, mflorell, MJCoate, mcargile, Kumba, Michael_N

ping: unknown host google.com

Postby dilpreet » Fri Jan 12, 2018 3:46 pm

i don't know what i am doing wrong.. it's just not pinging any website. i tried all my static ip's gives me the same thing. please help.. and i am unable to upload the pics of the same.
dilpreet
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 11:36 am

Re: ping: unknown host google.com

Postby covarrubiasgg » Fri Jan 12, 2018 4:39 pm

Can you ping your gateway ?
Can you explain your network setup?
covarrubiasgg
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:20 am
Location: Tijuana, Mexico

Re: ping: unknown host google.com

Postby dilpreet » Fri Jan 12, 2018 4:45 pm

yes i can ping my gateway, i really don't understand how to explain my network setup
dilpreet
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 11:36 am

Re: ping: unknown host google.com

Postby covarrubiasgg » Fri Jan 12, 2018 4:49 pm

How many interfaces you have, do you have a LAN? Multiple WAN? Is this connect into a Switch? What kind of router are you using?

If you can ping your gateway, try to do a traceroute to any public IP address for example

traceroute 8.8.8.8
covarrubiasgg
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:20 am
Location: Tijuana, Mexico

Re: ping: unknown host google.com

Postby dilpreet » Fri Jan 12, 2018 4:55 pm

it's just one interface, connected with LAN. it's a basic mikrotik routerboard. not connected to switch
after i done traceroute 8.8.8.8 it says
1 vicibox (114.69.232.154) 2995.532 ms !H 2995.174 ms !H 2995.159 ms !H
dilpreet
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 11:36 am

Re: ping: unknown host google.com

Postby covarrubiasgg » Fri Jan 12, 2018 5:19 pm

It looks like you havent configured your gateway yet.

type "route"
covarrubiasgg
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:20 am
Location: Tijuana, Mexico

Re: ping: unknown host google.com

Postby dilpreet » Fri Jan 12, 2018 5:35 pm

kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
Default 114.69.232.153 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
114.69.232.152 * 255.255.255.248 U 0 0 0 eth0
dilpreet
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 11:36 am

Re: ping: unknown host google.com

Postby williamconley » Sat Jan 13, 2018 1:29 am

dilpreet wrote:i don't know what i am doing wrong.. it's just not pinging any website. i tried all my static ip's gives me the same thing. please help.. and i am unable to upload the pics of the same.


1) Post the full name of the .iso you downloaded to perform this install so we know what you are using.

2) If you are NOT using the .iso from Vicibox.com, stop right now and go to Vicibox.com and start over. You'll enjoy the experience much more. Use the Standard, not the Express.

3) On Vicibox.com there is also a PDF with instructions for the Basic Installation. This will include network setup, of course, from beginning to end. You'll need the server's IP address, network mask, gateway, and DNS server(s) ... all of which you must get from your ISP.

Unless your server will not have a dedicated IP of its own: If the public IP is on a router instead of being directly on your server, you'll set up the server with DHCP and it will handle the networking for you. Don't let anyone tell you that this isn't possible, because it is possible just not recommended. As a beginner it's fine for your initial setup until you can get a dedicated IP just for the server.

4) Once the Vicibox.com PDF is complete (networking is up, the installation is complete), you'll need to configure the server for use. The Vicidial Manager's Manual is available on EFLO.net. Free and paid versions both available, Free is fine for initial installation and will allow you to complete a fully functional server. Get the paid version when you find that you're making money and want deeper understanding of the system. A couple hundred extra pages and hi-res graphics!

When working with the Manager's Manual: Start at page one. Don't skip anything! Seriously. Do everything on every page until you have a fully functional server.

5) If you have used Vicibox.com's iso for installation, networking is handled via "yast network" at the command line. It's not simple, but the PDF instructions are fairly good and you'll get used to it.

6) If you get confused, start over. Delete all the partition (although sometimes the "swap" partition has to stay and may even get doubled, let it go it doesn't hurt anything). But most importantly, you'll eventually get used to the basic install and realize that installation is quite simple and pretty quick. Then you'll have no fear of the reinstall for new servers. :)
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 16959
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: ping: unknown host google.com

Postby dilpreet » Mon Jan 15, 2018 4:01 pm

it pings when i connect through dynamic IP, but i don't know what's wrong with static IP.. another thing.. the ISO file that i downloaded is version 8, and every tutorial and manual tells about version 7.. please help me..
dilpreet
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 11:36 am

Re: ping: unknown host google.com

Postby williamconley » Mon Jan 15, 2018 4:08 pm

If it pings when you use the dynamic IP, use the dynamic IP. You're done there.

Also, you did not actually post the full name of the iso. Please re-read my earlier reply. Post it or put it in your signature or both.
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 16959
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: ping: unknown host google.com

Postby dilpreet » Mon Jan 15, 2018 4:33 pm

ViciBox_v8.x86_64-8.0.1 this is what i got when i downloaded.
dilpreet
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 11:36 am

Re: ping: unknown host google.com

Postby uncapped_shady » Sun Jan 21, 2018 11:33 pm

Type yast lan and make sure your gateway IP is set under the "routing" section (I believe your MT is your GW?) . Also try adding a dns address to Google's DNS servers 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 instead of your MT's IP as I have seen guys pointing the DNS in yast lan to their GW but it then turns out that the DNS was not set on their RB.

Also be sure that the interface you are selecting to set as static is in fact the one that has the LAN cable plugged in, should your server be equipped with a multi-NIC setup.
uncapped_shady
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2018 5:51 pm
Location: South Africa Gauteng


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests