Termincal Server Agent Environment

Any and all non-support discussions

Moderators: gerski, enjay, williamconley, Op3r, Staydog, gardo, mflorell, MJCoate, mcargile, Kumba, Michael_N

Termincal Server Agent Environment

Postby walrouxe » Mon Sep 09, 2019 5:38 am

Hi Guys

How well does Vicidial cope with a terminal Services environment for the Agents

IM thinking of installing Vicibox 8/9 from the iso but looking for some potential pitfalls

Any Idea's and or Suggestions
walrouxe
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 7:01 am

Re: Termincal Server Agent Environment

Postby mflorell » Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:16 am

We have several clients that have used a few different Terminal Services for their agent workstations, and as long as you size the equipment correctly it can work just fine. In general, we don't recommend it because it creates a single-point-of-failure where if there is a problem with the terminal server then nobody can work, also most clients that have tried it did not size the terminal servers correctly and had issues. One other thing to keep in mind is if you will have the terminals handle a softphone, the terminals will either have to have enough CPU power to handle that, or the terminal server will be able to handle many fewer agents if the softphone is being handled on the server.
mflorell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17281
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Termincal Server Agent Environment

Postby walrouxe » Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:07 pm

Thank you, Matt - They will be using hardphones just to mitigate everything that goes with that type of setup.
walrouxe
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 7:01 am

Re: Termincal Server Agent Environment

Postby walrouxe » Tue Sep 10, 2019 3:06 am

Silly Question . . . - I know there is a lot of talk around the server specs - but is there a minimum agent desktop spec that needs to be adhered too?
walrouxe
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 7:01 am

Re: Termincal Server Agent Environment

Postby mflorell » Tue Sep 10, 2019 6:25 am

If you are using regular agent workstations(no terminal server) then it really depends on the operating system you want to use as to the hardware specs that are required. Windows10 will require probably the highest specs, due to all of the inefficiencies in that OS. We've seen a lot of larger clients use Ubuntu for workstations since you can get by with much older workstation hardware using Linux. Back in the WinXP days, all you needed was any Pentium CPU and you would be fine.
mflorell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17281
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Termincal Server Agent Environment

Postby walrouxe » Tue Sep 10, 2019 7:49 am

Thank you Matt
walrouxe
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 7:01 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 13 guests